Wisconsin home care license requirements
Bottom line: No general license identified — DHS/DQA Personal Care Agency certification (Medicaid).
- License required?
- No general license identified
- License / pathway
- DHS/DQA Personal Care Agency certification (Medicaid)
- Fees (initial / renewal)
- Fee required; amount Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency
From the 50-state summary. Fees shown as stated in the state entry; see each entry for conditions, conflicts, and sources.
Wisconsin requirements, item by item
Bracketed numbers link to the official sources at the bottom of this page.
Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency We could not confirm this item on an official state source during our review, so we did not estimate it.
| Item | What the guide found |
|---|---|
| License required? | Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency |
| License type / name | For the documented Wisconsin Medicaid free-standing PCA pathway, DQA provisional approval is required for Medicaid enrollment; DHS also describes PCA certification. The sources reviewed do not establish that this is a general license for nonmedical companion or homemaker agencies. [4][5] |
| Licensing agency | For PCA certification and related DQA processes: Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS), Division of Quality Assurance (DQA). [5][6] |
| Agency website | DHS Personal Care Agencies: Provider Resources: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/regulations/pca/providerinfo.htm PCA application page: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/regulations/pca/pca-application.htm. [7][8] |
| Initial application / license fee | Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency — For the PCA pathway, a non-refundable application fee is required, but its amount is not stated. The Wisconsin Medicaid enrollment listing also indicates an application fee is required without stating the amount. [8][4] |
| Renewal fee | Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency — For PCA certification, an annual renewal fee is required; the amount is not stated. [9][5] |
| Renewal cycle | PCA renewals are annual and electronic through the DQA Provider Portal. The March 2026 update says the 2026 renewal was due April 30; another DHS page says the annual report is due May 1. [9][5] |
| Typical approval timeline | For PCA certification, DQA reviews a complete initial or change-of-ownership application and approves or denies it within 90 days. After approval, the applicant must request an on-site survey within 9 months; DQA acts on its certification recommendation within 90 days after the survey. [5] |
| Administrator qualifications | For a PCA, the administrator must be at least 21 and meet the stated education and health-care experience requirements: an associate degree or higher in a health-care-related field, or a bachelor’s degree in another field plus one year of health-care-related work experience. The administrator must also know applicable rules; specified incumbent administrators are exempt. [10][8] |
| Caregiver background checks | For PCA-related requirements, entity background checks are required for specified owners and administrators through the DQA process, and covered entities must check caregivers at hire and at least every four years thereafter. The stated caregiver background-check charge is $15 online or $20 by mail/fax; these are screening fees, not agency licensing fees. [5][8][11] |
| Caregiver training hours | For PCA workers, no total training-hour requirement is stated. Workers must receive orientation before serving a client and demonstrate assigned skills successfully to a qualified trainer under RN supervision before providing those services independently. [12][13] |
| Registry checks | For covered employers, querying the Wisconsin Nurse Aide Registry is required for nurse aides; checking monthly additions to the Caregiver Misconduct Registry is recommended. [11] |
| General liability insurance | Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency |
| Workers' compensation | Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency |
| Bonding (surety / dishonesty) | Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency |
| Rule changes 2025–2026 | PCA certification functions moved to the DHS DQA Provider Portal, effective December 15, 2025; renewals are electronic through the portal. The sources reviewed do not give a portal launch or effective date for the general portal announcement. [9][6] |
Source notes and conflicts
The sources do not resolve whether a purely nonmedical companion/homemaker agency is subject to state licensing. DHS describes state licensing of personal care agencies, but other cited material describes PCA certification or licensing in contexts tied to personal care services and Medicaid, and does not establish a general nonmedical-agency requirement. Renewal timing also differs: the March 2026 PCA update gives April 30, 2026, while the application page says the annual report is due May 1.
Sources
- Division of Quality Assurance (DQA) Bureaus and Offices
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/dqa/sections.htm - Finding and Choosing a Personal Care Agency
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/guide/pca.htm - Residential and Community-Based Care Licensing and ...
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/regulations/residcomm/pca.htm - Enrollment Criteria
https://www.forwardhealth.wi.gov/wiportal/subsystem/certification/enrollmentcriteria.aspx?topic=2 - Personal Care Agencies: Application and Certification Process
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/regulations/pca/pca-application.htm - Personal Care Agencies | Wisconsin Department of Health Services
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/regulations/pca/index.htm - Personal Care Agencies: Provider Resources
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/regulations/pca/providerinfo.htm - f00262a.docx
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f0/f00262a.docx - [PDF] PCA Renewals and Operational Updates in the Portal
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/regulations/pca/pca-renewals-ops-updates-20260311.pdf - Wisconsin Legislature: DHS 105.17(1n)(d)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/dhs/101/105/17/1n/d/1 - Wisconsin Caregiver Program Manual
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/publications/p0/p00038.pdf - Wisconsin Legislature: DHS 105.17(1n)(a)3.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/dhs/101/105/17/1n/a/3 - Wisconsin Legislature: DHS 105.17
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/dhs/101/105/17
Limits: fees and forms change often. Agencies sometimes post conflicting figures (a statute vs. an older form); those conflicts are shown, not resolved by guessing. Confirm the current fee with the agency before filing. This guide is a research reference, not legal advice.
Want to talk through your state?
A free 15-minute clarity call with Home Care Agency Blueprint, the publisher of this site. Bring your state and your questions; you do not need to finish the checklist first.
Book a free 15-minute clarity call