Michigan home care license requirements
Bottom line: No state license identified — MDHHS Home Help agency provider approval + CHAMPS enrollment (Medicaid).
- License required?
- No state license identified
- License / pathway
- MDHHS Home Help agency provider approval + CHAMPS enrollment (Medicaid)
- Fees (initial / renewal)
- Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency
From the 50-state summary. Fees shown as stated in the state entry; see each entry for conditions, conflicts, and sources.
Michigan requirements, item by item
Bracketed numbers link to the official sources at the bottom of this page.
Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency We could not confirm this item on an official state source during our review, so we did not estimate it.
| Item | What the guide found |
|---|---|
| License required? | Not required / N/A — The Michigan Attorney General checklist describes non-medical home care as an unregulated industry. This does not remove the separate MDHHS approval and CHAMPS enrollment requirements for agencies participating in the Home Help program. [1][2][3] |
| License type / name | Not required / N/A — No state non-medical home-care agency license is stated. For agencies seeking to serve Home Help beneficiaries, the described pathway is MDHHS agency-provider approval and CHAMPS enrollment—not a general non-medical agency license. [1][2][3] |
| Licensing agency | For Home Help program participation, MDHHS approves agency providers. Agencies must register in CHAMPS and have their application submitted and approved before receiving the agency rate or billing for services. [2][3][4] |
| Agency website | https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/doing-business/providers/providers/other/homehelp/agency-providers/agency-providers [2] |
| Initial application / license fee | Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency |
| Renewal fee | Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency |
| Renewal cycle | For the Home Help Medicaid enrollment pathway, providers must revalidate enrollment at least once every five years, or more often if MDHHS requests it. This is an enrollment revalidation cycle, not a stated license renewal cycle. [3] |
| Typical approval timeline | For Home Help agency-provider applications, MDHHS notifies the applicant of approval, denial, or a request for more information within 30 calendar days after receiving all required documents. [5] |
| Administrator qualifications | For Home Help agency-provider approval, the listed pathways include a current Medicare-certified Home Health agency with a federal TIN; an approved agency with an EIN directly employing at least two caregivers; or a CMHSP working with self-determination arrangements. The agency must also register with LARA or its local County Clerk; Home Help agencies must enroll in CHAMPS. [4][2][3] |
| Caregiver background checks | For Home Help agency participation, owners, caregivers, and employees with access to a client’s home or personal information are subject to criminal history screening and program exclusions. The sources do not specify screening details for non-Home-Help agencies. [4][3] |
| Caregiver training hours | Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency |
| Registry checks | Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency |
| General liability insurance | Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency — The consumer checklist advises asking whether an agency can provide proof of insurance; it does not state that general liability insurance is required. [1] |
| Workers' compensation | Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency — The consumer checklist advises asking whether an agency can provide proof of workers’ compensation; it does not state whether coverage is required. [1] |
| Bonding (surety / dishonesty) | Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency — The consumer checklist advises asking whether an agency can provide proof of bonding; it does not state that bonding is required. [1] |
| Rule changes 2025–2026 | Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency |
Source notes and conflicts
The LARA statement that state licensing is not required concerns home health agencies and does not address non-medical agencies. The Attorney General checklist separately describes the non-medical industry as unregulated. Home Help MDHHS approval and CHAMPS enrollment are program participation requirements, not evidence of a general state agency license.
Sources
- [PDF] Non-Medical Home Care Agency Checklist - State of Michigan
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/AG/consumer-education/FINAL_NonMedical_Home_Care_Agency_Checklist.pdf?rev=88135f1ecc7c4080a22436b958468cb5 - Agency Providers - State of Michigan
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/doing-business/providers/providers/other/homehelp/agency-providers/agency-providers - CHAMPS Instructions & Information - State of Michigan
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/doing-business/providers/providers/other/homehelp/agency-providers/champs-instructions-information - [PDF] 136.pdf - Michigan Department of Health & Human Services
https://mdhhs-pres-prod.michigan.gov/olmweb/ex/AS/Public/ASM/136.pdf - Submit Documents to the MDHHS Home Help Section
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/doing-business/providers/providers/other/homehelp/agency-providers/submit-documents-to-the-mdhhs-home-help-unit
Limits: fees and forms change often. Agencies sometimes post conflicting figures (a statute vs. an older form); those conflicts are shown, not resolved by guessing. Confirm the current fee with the agency before filing. This guide is a research reference, not legal advice.
Want to talk through your state?
A free 15-minute clarity call with Home Care Agency Blueprint, the publisher of this site. Bring your state and your questions; you do not need to finish the checklist first.
Book a free 15-minute clarity call