Home Care Agency BlueprintHome Care License GuideMenuBook a free 15-minute clarity callBook a call

Alaska home care license requirements

Bottom line: Medicaid certification only — SDS Personal Care Services / CFC-PCS provider certification.

License required?
Medicaid certification only
License / pathway
SDS Personal Care Services / CFC-PCS provider certification
Fees (initial / renewal)
Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency

From the 50-state summary. Fees shown as stated in the state entry; see each entry for conditions, conflicts, and sources.

Alaska requirements, item by item

Bracketed numbers link to the official sources at the bottom of this page.

Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency We could not confirm this item on an official state source during our review, so we did not estimate it.

Alaska licensing items from the reference guide
ItemWhat the guide found
License required?Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency — For Medicaid PCS or Community First Choice PCS, provider certification is required. The sources reviewed do not establish whether a separate state license is required for a non-Medicaid, non-medical home-care agency. [1][2]
License type / nameMedicaid pathway only: Personal Care Services provider certification under 7 AAC 125.060 or Community First Choice personal care services provider certification under 7 AAC 127.050, followed by Medicaid enrollment. The facts do not establish a separate non-medical home-care agency license. [1][2]
Licensing agencyFor the Medicaid PCS certification pathway, the agency is Senior and Disabilities Services (SDS), Provider Certification & Compliance Unit, Alaska Department of Health. [2][3]
Agency websitehttps://health.alaska.gov/en/senior-and-disabilities-services/provider-certification-and-compliance/ [2]
Initial application / license feeNot confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency
Renewal feeNot confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency
Renewal cycleNot confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency — For Medicaid PCS certification, the certification-period length is not stated in the sources reviewed. A complete renewal application must be submitted at least 60 days before the current certification expires. [3][1]
Typical approval timelineMedicaid PCS renewal applications are due at least 60 days before the current certification expires. No initial application processing or approval time is stated. [3]
Administrator qualificationsMedicaid PCS pathway: the program administrator must be at least 21 and meet the human-services education and experience qualifications or an allowed alternative. The 2026 initial guidance directs applicants to the PCS Conditions of Participation for the specific requirements. [3][4]
Caregiver background checksMedicaid PCS pathway: applicable individuals must be associated with the agency’s background-check account and have at least provisional clearance before working with clients or their protected health information. The initial guidance also says the agency’s organization chart and background-check roster must match before certification approval. [4]
Caregiver training hoursMedicaid PCS pathway: the Program Administrator must complete 40-Hour PCA Training within three months of hire or approval unless exempt through a qualifying credential. SDS Critical Incident Reporting training is required at least every two years; the facts also specify CPR and first-aid training for personal care assistants within the previous two years. [5][3]
Registry checksMedicaid PCS pathway: the agency’s background-check policy must require checks of the State of Alaska Medicaid Exclusion list and the Federal exclusion list. [4]
General liability insuranceMedicaid PCS pathway: commercial general liability insurance is required. The PCS Conditions of Participation specify a minimum of $300,000 combined single limit per claim; the 2026 guidance requires coverage but does not state a limit. [3][5]
Workers' compensationMedicaid PCS pathway: workers’ compensation insurance is required for employees as required by AS 23.30.045 and applicable statutory obligations. The 2026 guidance also requires providers to maintain workers’ compensation insurance. [3][5]
Bonding (surety / dishonesty)Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency
Rule changes 2025–2026Not confirmed in official sources — check with the state agency

Track these items in the checklist

Source notes and conflicts

The cited certification and insurance requirements concern Medicaid PCS/CFC PCS providers, not a general non-medical home-care agency license. The PCS Conditions of Participation specify a $300,000 general-liability minimum, while the 2026 guidance requires coverage without stating a limit; the sources reviewed do not establish whether that minimum has changed.

Sources

  1. [PDF] Personal Care Services and Community First Choice Personal Care ...
    https://health.alaska.gov/media/xtkfrzp5/pcs.pdf
  2. Provider Certification & Compliance Unit | State of Alaska
    https://health.alaska.gov/en/senior-and-disabilities-services/provider-certification-and-compliance/
  3. Personal Care Services and Community First Choice Personal ...
    https://health.alaska.gov/media/e1tccoyk/pcs-and-cfc-pcs-provider-cop-9.pdf
  4. Personal Care Services, Initial Certification Application Content Guidance
    https://health.alaska.gov/media/jujmfqmo/initial-pcs-application-guidance-7-31-26.pdf
  5. Personal Care Services, Renewal Certification Application Content Guidance
    https://health.alaska.gov/media/4fdndtpo/renewal-pcs-application-guidance-7-31-26.pdf

Limits: fees and forms change often. Agencies sometimes post conflicting figures (a statute vs. an older form); those conflicts are shown, not resolved by guessing. Confirm the current fee with the agency before filing. This guide is a research reference, not legal advice.

Want to talk through your state?

A free 15-minute clarity call with Home Care Agency Blueprint, the publisher of this site. Bring your state and your questions; you do not need to finish the checklist first.

Book a free 15-minute clarity call